Sturgill Simpson - Metamodern Sounds In Country Music

Sturgill Simpson - Metamodern Sounds In Country Music



Thirty Tigers / Cooking Vinyl Australia are thrilled to release the second album by rising country-psych singer/songwriter Sturgill Simpson, 'Metamodern Sounds in Country Music.'

Sturgill Simpson's authenticity stands out like an island of hope in a sea of tacky. Pure and uncompromising, devoid of gloss and fakery. 'Metamodern Sounds In Country Music' is sonically, a departure from his debut 'High Top Mountain,' which drew comparisons to the music of Waylon Jennings and Merle Haggard.

"I think that there is a lot of room in country music for progression and sonic oscillation, which is what I wanted to explore," says Simpson.

The album title Ì_Ì_́‰ÛÓ̤Ì_ÌÇÌ_•À_Ì_ÌÇÌ_å« an allusion to Ray Charles' groundbreaking 1962 record, 'Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music' Ì_Ì_́‰ÛÓ̤Ì_ÌÇÌ_•À_Ì_ÌÇÌ_å« hints at the psychedelic sounds found within. With 'Metamodern Sounds In Country Music,' Simpson has created murky, multi-textured soundscapes that incorporate elements of classic country, bluegrass, rock and even a bit of electronica, a genre that Simpson admits he has a "slight fetish" for.

1. Turtles All The Way Down
2. Life Of Sin
3. Living The Dream
4. Voices
5. Long White Line
6. The Promise
7. A Little Light
8. Just Let Go
9. It Ain't All Flowers
10. Pan Bowl (Hidden Track)