Lindi Ortega - Liberty

Lindi Ortega - Liberty



Lindi Ortega "has always been the sonic embodiment of the red cowboy boots she's often seen wearing: a fiery and dramatic take on modern country that's impossible to ignore" (Rolling Stone Country), and her fifth studio record 'Liberty' is no exception.

Ortega wrote roughly half of the twelve tracks solo, and enlisted co-writers Aaron Raitiere, Bruce Wallace and John Paul White (The Civil Wars) for the rest. The result is a three-part concept album reflecting loss, resurrection and freedom.

Recorded at Battle Tapes studio in East Nashville, Ortega and Skylar Wilson (Justin Townes Earle, Rayland Baxter) scaled back the boot-stomping, throwback country approach that she's known for, instead polishing a set of music that reflects her Mexican lineage.

Ortega and Wilson - who first bonded over their shared passion for Quentin Tarantino movies - then enhanced the sonic landscape with the help of Country Music Hall of Fame member Charlie McCoy's signature harmonica and Nashville-based band Steelism, drawing on the epic work of Oscar-winning composer Ennio Morricone, who became one of Ortega's musical obsessions during the writing and recording of 'Liberty.'

"Country's crystalline-voiced goth-rock version of Dolly Parton" - MAGNET
"The pipes of Patsy Cline with the visual flair of Amy Winehouse" - The Washington Post
"Genre-defying in both her music and her personal style" - NPR's All Things Considered

1. Through The Dust Part I
2. Afraid of the Dark
3. You Aint Foolin Me
4. Til My Dyin Day
5. Nothing's Impossible
6. Through The Dust Part II
7. The Comeback Kid
8. Darkness Be Gone
9. Forever Blue
10. In The Clear
11. Pablo
12. Lovers In Love
13. Through The Dust Part III
14. Liberty
15. Gracias A La Vida