Jimbo Mathus & Andrew Bird

Jimbo Mathus & Andrew Bird


For the first time in decades, Jimbo Mathus and Andrew Bird have come together to announce a brand new album, These 13, out March 5 on Thirty Tigers. These 13 is about the special type of human connection that can survive any distance of time or geography.

As former collaborators in Squirrel Nut Zippers, Mathus and Bird's friendship dates back 25 years, but at the turn of the century, their career paths diverged. Both became highly accomplished, acclaimed, and prolific solo artists, and though they remained close friends, they did not return to musical collaboration until 2018, when they started exchanging the fragments that grew into this set of 13 songs.

Andrew Bird is an internationally acclaimed musician, songwriter and composer who has released sixteen records to date.

Jimbo Mathus is an American singer-songwriter and guitarist, best known for his work with the Gold and Platinum-certified swing revival band, Squirrel Nut Zippers. The group toured extensively throughout the 1990s, including performances for the second inauguration of Bill Clinton, the 1996 Summer Olympics, The Tonight Show, Late Night with David Letterman, Dick Clark's New Year's Rockin' Eve and more.

Track List:

1. Poor Lost Souls
2. Sweet Oblivion
3. Encircle My Love
4. Beat Still My Heart
5. Red Velvet Rope
6. High John
7. Stonewall (1863)
8. Bright Sunny South
9. Bell Witch
10. Dig Up The Hatchet
11. Jack O' Diamonds
12. Burn The Honky Tonk
13. Three White Horses And A Golden Chain