The Jayhawks - Paging Mr Proust

The Jayhawks - Paging Mr Proust

$7.00 $19.99


Influential band The Jayhawks release their long-awaited new album, 'Paging Mr. Proust' (via Thirty Tigers).

The 11-song new album finds the 2016 Jayhawks still remain one of America's foremost rock bands: based around leader Gary Louris' gift for melody that has made them such a respected and seminal group for almost three decades.

'Paging Mr. Proust' features the long-time core of the Jayhawks: Gary Louris (lead vox/guitars), Marc Perlman (bass), Tim O'Reagan (drums/vox), and Karen Grotberg (keyboards/vox). 'Paging Mr. Proust' was co-produced by Louris, REM's Peter Buck and Tucker Martine (The Decemberists, Modest Mouse, My Morning Jacket) and recorded at Martine's Flora Recording & Playback in Portland, OR.

From the jangle of album opener "Quiet Corners & Empty Spaces," to the trademark harmonies of "Isabel's Daughter," to the more pensive "Lover Of The Sun," it is clear that The Jayhawks' power remains undiminished from their initial national impact, 1992's 'Hollywood Town Hall.'

Other tracks such as the sludgy rocker "Lost The Summer," the kraut-rock groove of "Ace," and the taut minimalism of "Comeback Kids," bring new sounds to the palette. "Leaving The Monsters Behind" features a trademark vocal turn special guest Mike Mills.

"We worked harder in pre-production than any previous Jayhawks record," says Louris, having demoed most of the songs in his home studio before extensive workshopping with the band, and eventually recording in the hospitable confines of Martine's studio.

'Paging Mr. Proust' shows a commitment to adventure and forward motion, which makes this collection of songs exciting and instantly memorable.

1. Quiet Corners & Empty Spaces
2. Lost The Summer
3. Lovers of the Sun
4. Pretty Roses in Your Hair
5. Leaving The Monsters Behind
6. Isabel's Daughter
7. Ace
8. The Devil Is In Her Eyes
9. Comeback Kids
10. The Dust of Long-Dead Stars
11. Lies in Black & White
12. I'll Be Your Key