The Gaslight Anthem - The '59 Sound Sessions

The Gaslight Anthem - The '59 Sound Sessions

$5.00 $19.99


The Gaslight Anthem has unveiled further plans commemorating the 10th anniversary of their landmark second studio album, 'The '59 Sound!'

The New Jersey-based rock 'n' roll band will mark the momentous occasion with the release of The '59 Sound Sessions,' a new companion to the classic LP featuring nine rare and previously unreleased songs as well an all-new 60-page booklet.

THE '59 Sound Sessions' is highlighted by the first-ever release of songs recorded in the months before entering the studio for THE '59 SOUND itself, among them nascent versions of album favorites like "Great Expectations," "Miles Davis & The Cool" and the milestone title track alongside such rarities as the previously-unheard "Placeholder," "Our Fathers Sons" (last heard on The Gaslight Anthem's 2011 iTUNES SESSION), and a singular cover of the folk traditional, "God's Gonna Cut You Down," made famous by artists including Odetta and Johnny Cash.

"The journey a band goes through is complex," says The Gaslight Anthem's Benny Horowitz in THE '59 Sound Sessions' accompanying Photobook. "We were perpetually on the road and in a state of constant motion. I can't think of a better time to try and create the most significant thing of your life when it was the most significant time of all our lives. I'm so happy to share this moment of our existence."

1. The '59 Sound
2. God's Gonna Cut You Down (Johnny Cash Cover)
3. Patient Ferris Wheel
4. Miles Davis & The Cool
5. Placeholder (Unreleased)
6. High Lonesome
7. Great Expectations
8. Our Father's Sons (Unreleased)
9. Film Noir