The Charlatans - Modern Nature

The Charlatans - Modern Nature

$9.99 $22.99


The Charlatans' Tim Burgess, Mark Collins, Martin Blunt and Tony Rogers announce the release of their 12th studio album, 'Modern Nature,' via Cooking Vinyl Australia.

'Modern Nature' features eleven new tracks, and was produced by The Charlatans and Jim Spencer and mixed by Craig Silvey (Arcade Fire, Portishead). It features at cacophony of contributors from their three temporary drummers Pete Salisbury of The Verve, Stephen Morris of New Order and Gabriel Gurnsey of DFA's avant-disco group Factory Floor, to Kate Bush's backing singers Melanie Marshall and Sandra Marvin, strings by Sean O'Hagan and brass courtesy of Dexy's Big Jim Paterson.

The album comes after a difficult year for the band following the death of their old friend and drummer Jon Brookes after a long battle with brain cancer in August 2013. When the band reconvened at their Big Mushroom studio in early 2014, it was the memory and spirit of Jon that spurred the rest of the band on to finally make a breakthrough and create a bright, uplifting, summery record that stands up as one of the finest of their career. "Jon was adamant there was going to be another Charlatans record, and you have to put that into your own thoughts," says Rogers.

For there was just too much history not to carry on. Over the near 25 years since they formed, The Charlatans have never split up to lucratively reform like so many of their peers. They've overcome death, arrest, Britpop and bankruptcy to release eleven albums, including seven UK top 10s and 11 top 20 singles.

1. Talking In Tones
2. So Oh
3. Come Home Baby
4. Keep Enough
5. In The Tall Grass
6. Emilie
7. Let The Good Times Be Never Ending
8. I Need You To Know
9. Lean In
10. Trouble Understanding
11. Lot To Say