Allison Moorer - Blood

Allison Moorer - Blood



On October 25th, acclaimed singer/songwriter Allison Moorer will release 'Blood' the first solo album in four years from the Academy, Grammy, Americana and Academy of Country Music award nominated artist. 'Blood' is not only Moorer's most personal and revealing work to date, but also her finest and most important.

Blood stands on its own as a complete work, but the album serves as a companion piece to her anticipated autobiography, Blood: A Memoir, being released on October 29.

Blood: A Memoir is a detailed account of Moorer and her sister's (Grammy Award winner Shelby Lynne) childhood growing up in a troubled home in Southern Alabama, which ended with the well-documented murder-suicide of her parents in 1986. Much of what the public has known about the tragic event begins and ends there. For years Moorer had avoided going into the traumatic details of the abuse, alcoholism, intimidation, poverty and neglect, that existed prior to the deaths, and for good reasons which she addresses in the memoir. Moorer also addresses the fact that there was so much more to her family than tragedy, darkness and what people thought they knew. There was love, there was a protective mother, there was the bond of sisterhood and there was music. There was always music.

The album 'Blood' serves as a song cycle featuring ten tracks that directly connect to the people, emotions, trauma, and state of mind that are all detailed so eloquently in the memoir.

1. Bad Weather
2. Cold Cold Earth
3. Nightlight
4. The Rock And The Hill
5. Im The One To Blame
6. Set My Soul Free
7. The Ties That Bind
8. All I Wanted (Thanks Anyway)
9. Blood
10. Heal