Nahko & Medicine For The People - Hoka

Nahko & Medicine For The People - Hoka

$19.99 $39.99


Nahko and Medicine for The People is excited to release their brand new, forthcoming album, 'Hoka,' featuring lead single "San Quentin." Produced by Grammy Award-winner Ted Hutt (Old Crow Medicine Show, The Gaslight Anthem, Lucero), 'Hoka' is out via SideOneDummy Records.

The moving video for 'Hoka's first single is about Nahko's personal journey to forgiveness that took him to San Quentin State Prison (California) to visit the man that murdered his father.

"I didn't really know what I was going to say to him," Nahko explains, but as he sings, he's "come a long way to tell you this story - there's no turning back now." Nahko ventured on the visit so he could get some closure after spending the majority of his life unraveling the truth of his childhood. It was important to him to forgive the man that murdered his father in person. Both the video and song are more uplifting than one would expect given the subject matter, but that is just a reflection on Nahko's outlook on life.

It's been three years since Los Angeles, California-based Nahko and Medicine for The People's last record, 'Dark As Night.' That release reached No. 4 on Billboard's Top Alternative New Album, No. 6 on the Heatseekers album chart, No. 36 on the Top Independent Album chart, and No. 7 in Australia on Triple J's Top 10 Roots Albums of 2013.

Nahko and Medicine for The People - which also features Chase Makai (lead guitar), Justin Chittams (drums), Pato (bass and kora), Tim Snider (violin) and Max Ribner (horns) - gathered more members of their global tribe of like-minded fans as they spread their powerful and impactful musical message around the world. They have toured with such acts as The Avett Brothers, Michael Franti, Xavier Rudd, SOJA, and Trevor Hall, and performed on festivals including Outside Lands, Electric Forest, Wanderlust, Bumbershoot, California Roots Music Festival, Byron Bay Blues & Roots Festival, and many more.
Critics have praised their worldly blend of influences that range from Conor Oberst to Bob Marley, as well as their energetic and truly unforgettable live show. OC Weekly raved about the band's empowering message, pointing out that Nahko and Medicine for The People were the only act at the annual California Roots Music and Arts Festival to be called out for an encore, "showing just how compelling their music can be to those who are witness to it."

1. Hoka
2. Directions (feat. Joseph)
3. It Is Written
4. All Can Be Done
5. San Quentin
6. We Shall Overcome
7. Two Wolves
8. Great Spirit
9. We Are On Time
10. Love Letters To God
11. Heart Forward
12. Tus Pies (Your Feet)
13. Backbone
14. Ku Kia'i Mauna (feat. Hawane & Pua Case)
15. Build A Bridge
16. Make A Change (feat. Zella Day)
17. Give A Little, Get A Little
18. Runner
19. The Wolves Have Returned (feat. Trevor Hall, Xavier Rudd, Leah Song & Joseph)