The Jesus and Mary Chain - Live At Barrowland

The Jesus and Mary Chain - Live At Barrowland



Reissue of The Jesus and Mary Chain's 'Psychocandy' live album 'Live At Barrowland'.

In November 2014 The Jesus and Mary Chain celebrated three decades of their incendiary cult-classic debut album, ‘Psychocandy’, with a run of tour dates in which the infamous Scottish group played the album in full for the very first time in the band’s history. As part of the ‘Psychocandy’ tour, the Mary Chain descended on Glasgow’s Barrowland Ballroom – a legendary venue down the road from where the Reid brothers grew up in neighbouring East Kilbride – and tore through the songs that would propel them to worldwide acclaim upon ‘Psychocandy’s release in 1985.

The Barrowland performance – an equal-parts deafening and blinding assault on the senses – was cut to vinyl by engineer Noel Summerville and originally released in 2015. Fast forward to 2022 and the ‘Live at Barrowland’ album is now being reissued by Fuzz Club Records. Due for release April 22nd, the 2022 reissue comes with new artwork in a gatefold jacket with a booklet that features pages of photos from the tour as well as an interview with the Reid brothers and Alan McGee. 

The influence that ‘Psychocandy’ and its pioneering sonic belligerence had on popular music cannot be overstated. Taking bittersweet pop melodies and tearing them up apart through the medium of buzzsaw guitars, ear-piercing feedback and an unapologetic hostility towards their listeners, the band’s breakthrough album experimented with noise in a way that had never been done before and would inspire for generations to come. The CD features seven bonus tracks taken from the prelude set on the night, including such fan-favourites as ‘April Skies’, ‘Head On’ and ‘Reverence’. 


  1. Just Like Honey - Live
  2. The Living End - Live
  3. Taste The Floor - Live
  4. The Hardest Walk - Live
  5. Cut Dead - Live
  6. In A Hole - Live
  7. Taste Of Cindy - Live
  8. Never Understand - Live
  9. Inside Me - Live
  10. Sowing Seeds - Live
  11. My Little Underground - Live
  12. You Trip Me Up - Live
  13. Something's Wrong - Live
  14. It's So Hard - Live
  15. April Skies - Live
  16. Head On - Live
  17. Some Candy Talking - Live
  18. Psychocandy - Live
  19. Up Too High - Live
  20. Reverence - Live
  21. Upside Down - Live