Laura Jane Grace - Stay Alive

Laura Jane Grace - Stay Alive

$9.99 $19.99


Hi, my name is Laura Jane Grace. This is my album. This album is about staying alive. Stay alive. Don’t die. Work hard. Fight back. 

This album is an entirely analog recording. No computers were involved in the making of this album. These recordings were not edited together, these songs are documented performances. This album was written and recorded in Chicago, Illinois.

I recorded this album with Steve Albini at Electrical Audio on the two days after the full moon of July 5th, 2020. The album was mixed in another two days time. Steve and I were the only two people in the studio. We both wore face masks and stayed 6 feet apart at all times. I only took my face mask off while singing. 

There are songs on this album about haunted swimming pools and burning churches. There are songs about mountains. There are songs about astral seas and dry lakes. There are songs about drinking espressos and eating croissants at the Bora Bora beach club in Marbella, Spain. There are songs about dirty rivers that smell like pee in Glasgow, Scotland. There are songs about Nelson Algren’s Neon Jungle and Simone de Beauvoir's Mandarines. There are songs about petrified polymorphs and blood and thunder and LSD and laying on the grave of the Marchesa Luisa Casati while day dreaming of fabulous parties thrown 100 years ago and how the world has fallen apart before and how it is falling apart now and how if we’re lucky it will fall apart again someday long from now too. There are songs about all of that and more but really this record is about staying alive. Stay alive. Don’t die. Thank you for listening to my record. -LJG 

PS: this may technically be my first proper solo record but I can’t even tell anymore

PSS: if at any point you refer to this album as an “acoustic album” my 6 string strumming ghost will haunt 10 generations of your family every night of their lives with bedroom busking from 11PM to 6AM :)



1 The Swimming Pool Song
2 The Calendar Song
3 Shelter In Place
4 Return To Oz
5 The Mountain Song
6 SuperNatural Possession
7 Hanging Tree
8 Please Leave
9 Why Kant I Be You?
10 Ice Cream Song
11 The Magic Point
12 Blood & Thunder
13 So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Fuck Off
14 Old Friend (Stay Alive)

Translucent Purple Vinyl (Australian Limited Edition) - 300 Available.