Emily Barker - A Dark Murmuration Of Words

Emily Barker - A Dark Murmuration Of Words

$14.99 $19.99


Acclaimed Australian folk singer-songwriter Emily Barker has announced that her forthcoming album, ‘A Dark Murmuration of Words’, will be released on 4th September on Thirty Tigers.

Produced by Greg Freeman (Portico Quartet, Peter Gabriel, Amy Winehouse) and recorded with an incredible band featuring Rob Pemberton (drums, percussion, synth, backing vocals), Lukas Drinkwater (bass, guitars, backing vocals), Pete Roe (guitars, keys, backing vocals), Misha Law and Emily Hall (strings), ‘A Dark Murmuration of Words’ searches for the invisible connections that shape a rapidly shifting modern world. Recorded at StudiOwz in Pembrokeshire, Wales, the album is a timely exploration of climate change, racism, sexism, and myths of economic progress through the lens of what it means to return “home.”

Emily draws connections between the familial, the local, and the global: a mother sings to her unborn child, asking for its forgiveness on “Strange Weather”; ‘When Stars Cannot Be Found’ explores the humbleness and comfort of the night sky when far away from home. Other highlights include the nostalgic ‘Return Me’, the gloriously defiant ‘Machine’ and the effortless album closer ‘Sonogram’.

‘A Dark Murmuration of Words’ Tracklisting:

1. Return Me
2. Geography
3. The Woman Who Planted Trees
4. Where Have The Sparrows Gone?
5. Strange Weather
6. Machine
7. When Stars Cannot Be Found
8. Ordinary
9. Any More Goodbyes
10. Sonogram